Cliff Richard - We Don't Talk Anymore - on Rock 'N' Roll Juvenile Album (1979)

Cliff Richard - We Don't Talk Anymore - on Rock 'N' Roll Juvenile Album (1979)

"We Don't Talk Anymore" is a song recorded by Cliff Richard that reached number one in the UK Singles Chart in August 1979, remaining there for four weeks. Produced by The Shadows' rhythm guitarist, Bruce Welch, and written by Alan Tarney, it was Cliff Richard's tenth UK number one and his first since "Congratulations" in 1968.

Coming just before his 39th birthday, and just when it was announced that he was to receive the OBE for services to music, the record cemented his comeback, which continued well into the 1980s and 1990s. The single was his biggest worldwide seller: it was number one in Germany for five weeks (his only English-language German chart-topper, though he had two German-language number ones there in the 1960s), and reached number seven on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart in the United States. The fact that its chart run extended beyond the end of 1979 meant Richard became the first act to reach the Hot 100's top 40 in the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s and 1980s.

The single sold over 4 million copies worldwide, topping the charts in the UK, Austria, Belgium (Flanders), Finland, West Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Malta, Norway and Switzerland. It was certified Gold in both the UK and West Germany.

The song was the sixth video aired on MTV on its launch on 1 August 1981.

Track List: Rock 'N' Roll Juvenile

1. Monday Thru' Friday
2. Doing Fine
3. Cities May Fall
4. You Know That I Love You
5. My Luck Won't Change
6. Rock 'N' Roll Juvenile
7. Sci Fi
8. Fallin' In Luv
9. Carrie
10. Hot Shot
11. Language Of Love
12. We Don't Talk Anymore
13. Walking In The Light
14. Moving In

No comments:

Post a Comment